New Block Print Design

I have another textile order, so I decided it was a good opportunity to design a new block. After quite a bit of experimenting, I came up with this.Flower block 1Cutting the design in a way that would print light and dark.

This is the anticipated design worked on the computer so that I can see what it might look like before I cut the block.Flower block 5After seeing that I like the what is happening I start cutting.Flower block 2 Flower block 3 Here is the block cut and mounted ready to print.Flower block 4Here it is printed on recycled fabric dyed with tea.Flower block 6I actually really like this and I think my client will too!

2 thoughts on “New Block Print Design

  1. I really like this design and it’s a clever composition the way it can work to form the diamond or form a stripe. It’s interesting to me that you entirely cut away a whole chunk of your lino block. I always just scrape away to a thin layer but never remove an entire section. However, I don’t mount my blocks. Interesting. Thanks for sharing your process.

  2. Thanks, I’m glad that you Like the design. If the block is for printing on fabric, I’ve found it’s much better to mount It, and a tap with a broad hammer or mallet gives a nice clean print. 🙂

Leave a Reply

