Upholstering chair with hand printed velvet

We’ve had two of these chairs since we moved in our house and I’ve been wanting to do something with them for quite a while. As I’ve been enjoying introducing my textiles in the house, this was another opportunity.

A very tired un inspiring chair!

Taking the seat apart took ages….

…..and I can’t believe how many tacks there were!

When putting new woven tape on the seat I tried to get it as tight as possible for bottom support!.

Then filled the recess with as much padding as I wanted and covered it with a layer of calico…..

 

……and then covered over the visible strips and the edges of the calico with hessian. When all secure I covered the seat with my very own printed re-used velvet and secured it with upholstery tacks.

And voila, a brand new chair!

Only one more chair to go!

Leave a Reply

