Mussel Shell Pattern/How I Do It

The first thing I do is to stretch out washed fabric onto a padded table and tape into place. Then print the first block with textile colour onto the fabric, this is the main shape of the design.

Shell Outline Block

Then I use a real shell to print the second colour randomly over the fabric until I’m satisfied with the over all balance of the print.

Printing Shell

In the same colour I use different size pieces of card to enhance the shape of the a selection of the different size shells  I’ve  printed.

Printing Card

Then with the same colour again I print with my finger to shade in some of the smaller shells printed with the first block.

Finger Printing

Finally with a loaded brush I splatter the finished prints with my chosen colours, this time sandy yellow and white.

Mussels Shell Design

Leave a Reply

